Follow Us

Log in
Log in

2023 NYS Legislative Session Begins - Committee Leadership Changes Announced

January 06, 2023 12:48 PM | Anonymous

January 4th was the opening day of the 2023 legislative session. While leadership in both the Senate and Assembly remained the same with Senator Andrea Stewart-Cousins voted as the Senate Majority Leader and Democratic Assemblyman Carl Heastie voted as Speaker of the Assembly, there were notable changes in several important committees:

  • Assemblymember Amy Paulin (D-Scarsdale) is the new chair of the Assembly Health Committee, replacing Richard Gottfried who retired.

  • Assemblymember Pat Fahy (D-Albany) is the new chair of the Assembly Higher Education Committee, replacing Assemblymember Deborah Glick who has become chair of Assembly Environmental Conservation Committee.

  • Assemblymember David Weprin (D-Queens) is the new chair of the Assembly Insurance Committee, replacing Kevin Cahill who lost re-election.

The Assembly Majority Leadership and Committee Chairs can be found HERE.

The Senate Majority Leadership can be found HERE and Committee Chairs found HERE

To see when the legislature is in session, you can view the calendar online:

About us

Uniting efforts to improve the quality of surgical practice in New York and care to surgical patients.

Become a member

Elevate your career and join your local Chapter today!

Contact us

New York Chapter American College of Surgeons
150 State Street, Floor 4, Albany NY 12207                         
Phone: (518) 953-5401 | Fax: (518) 514-1424

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software